FAQ

Here are the answers to some frequently asked questions.

1. Who can rescind?

Any consumer who took out a life insurance policy between January 1st, 1995 and December 31st, 2007, and was not fully and/or properly informed about its contractual conditions or revocation deadline, can rescind the policy. This applies if the consumer receives no documentation at all, or if the documentation was incomplete. Necessary information includes general consumer guidance and clear notification of a rescission deadline, which may not be hidden in small-print. If you have already canceled your policy and are expecting losses as a result, you can also make a claim.

2. Why rescind instead of canceling?

If you cancel your life or pension insurance, you will only be given back some of the premiums you paid in. This is known as the surrender value. If your policy was concluded between January 1st, 1995 and December 31st, 2007, and if you were not fully and/or correctly informed about its contractual conditions, especially the revocation deadline, then your life insurance can be rescinded in full. This means you have the right not only to its surrender value but also to repayment of any premiums you paid in, plus compensation for use. This is why a rescission is an attractive option for many consumers.

3. How much money will I get back?

If you have the right to object because of incorrect guidance, then, in the view of the Federal Court of Justice (Bundesgerichtshof, BGH), your policy will be eligible for a full rescission. This means that the insurance company must repay not only the surrender value, but also any sales and administration costs, plus interest (compensation for use). Exactly how much that is will depend on the premiums you have paid in your particular case. As part of our free initial assessment, we will gladly calculate the amount of compensation for use you can realistically expect.

4. Can I do this without legal expenses insurance?

Yes, we believe that the rescission of an incorrectly issued life or pension insurance should not depend on whether or not you have legal insurance. In this case, we offer our clients Service Models B and D. If an initial valuation indicates that a repeal has a good chance of success, we will cover for you the legal costs of both Service Models. You do not need legal insurance for this. Our new Service Model D even allows you to receive an initial payment of your compensation for use after as soon as approximately six weeks. We will be happy to help you with any questions about choosing the right model.

5. Are the costs transparent?

The costs will always be made clear to you. Our service is free of charge; there will only be a fee upon successful conclusion, and this will be based on the compensation for use you get because of our service. We will inform you about the potential costs before an attorney starts working for you. These costs will usually be covered by your legal expenses insurance. We offer special service models for other situations.

6. What will it cost me to commission FACTO?

If the valuation of your documentation shows that there is a predominant chance of success for the repeal, then you can rescind your life insurance policy fully through FACTO. Before the attorney starts working for you, we will inform you about the costs incurred. These costs will usually be covered by your legal insurance. If successful, we will receive a fee that is a percentage of the surplus value obtained. We will discuss with you beforehand how much this could potentially be – and the costs will always be clear to you. If you do not have legal insurance, we can still enable a rescission using our Service Models B and D. With Model D, you will be able to receive an initial payment of your compensation for use after as soon as approximately six weeks. Feel free to ask us about this.

7. What kind of insurance policies can be rescinded?

FACTO can assess any life or pension insurance (conventional or equity-linked), which was concluded between January 1st, 1995 and December 31st, 2007 and which is still ongoing, has already been canceled, or has expired. Funded policies such as ‘Riester’ and ‘Rürup’ retirement plans cannot be assessed, nor can company schemes or insurance policies that cover only a risk, such as a pure term life insurance policy.

8. Can policies that have already been canceled or expired still be rescinded?

Verdicts issued by the European Court of Justice and Federal Court of Justice stipulate that any life or pension insurance that does not contain proper revocation instructions in its documentation or insurance certificate can be fully rescinded. This also applies to policies that have already been canceled or which have expired.

9. What documents does FACTO need to assess my case?

Our local sales partner will inspect your documentation together with you, and help you to organize any missing documents or information. Exactly which documents they may be will depend on your particular case. Generally speaking, in order to assess your right to object, we need the application form, the policy letter, an original certificate of insurance, and consumer information. But even if some of the documents are no longer traceable, we can often still achieve a rescission. That is something we will check in our free, non-binding initial assessment.

10. Are there taxation issues to be taken into account?

In some instances, repealing a policy or generating surplus value can lead to taxation. FACTO is not authorized to issue tax-related information or advise customers regarding taxation. We therefore strongly recommend that you have your tax consultant examine a rescission for any taxation repercussions.

11. I have more than one policy. Is it the same for me?

If you have more than one policy, then you can submit them to us together. The attorneys we commission will require separate mandates for each, which you will receive from us in advance.

12. What will happen to my original documents?

We will only need your original documents if we assess your case as potentially positive. We will then give these documents to the attorneys we commission. Once your rescission has been successfully completed, you will of course get them back.

13. Will my case definitely go to court?

We always begin by trying to reach an out-of-court settlement with your insurance company. But if we cannot, or if we expect the resolution to be unsatisfactory, then the attorney we commission will institute proceedings. The attorney will act on your behalf and request the rescission of the policy, repayment of all premiums, and compensation for use.

14. Can I, and do I have to, appear in court personally?

If you are not ordered to appear in court, then you do not have to participate in the proceedings, as your specialized attorney will hold full powers to represent you.

15. How long does a rescission take?

This can vary a lot depending on the type of policy, the company involved, and the place of jurisdiction. We normally expect a rescission to take at least 18 to 24 months to process. With our new Service Model D, you now benefit from an immediate payout: After as soon as approximately six weeks, up to 20 percent of the calculated surplus value will be transferred to your account.

16. Will my legal expenses insurance pay the FACTO fee and attorneys’ fees?

Ideally, you will have legal expenses insurance that covers private contract law – which most policies do. The attorneys’ fees will then be covered by your legal expenses insurance. FACTO only receives a fee if successful. Its remuneration is a percentage of the compensation for use obtained. You do not pay anything.

Is your question not listed here?
Get in touch with us.

We will of course handle your information confidentially.
Read our data privacy statement here.

FAQ

Hier finden Sie Antworten zu den häufigsten Fragen.

1. Wer kann widerrufen?

Widerrufen können alle Verbraucher, die zwischen 1. Januar 1995 und 31. Dezember 2007 eine Lebensversicherung abgeschlossen haben und dabei nicht über die Vertragsbedingungen und die Widerrufsfrist vollständig und/oder richtig informiert wurden. Das gilt, wenn die Verbraucher gar keine Unterlagen bekommen haben oder wenn die Unterlagen unvollständig waren. Zu den nötigen Informationen gehören eine Allgemeine Verbraucherinformation und eine deutliche Information über die Widerrufsfrist. Sie darf nicht im Kleingedruckten versteckt sein. Auch wer schon gekündigt hat und deswegen mit Einbußen rechnet, kann noch Ansprüche geltend machen.

2. Warum widerrufen statt kündigen?

Bei der Kündigung Ihrer Lebens- oder Rentenversicherung erhalten Sie nur einen Anteil Ihrer eingezahlten Beiträge zurück. Das ist der sogenannte Rückkaufswert. Wurde der Vertrag jedoch zwischen 1. Januar 1995 und 31. Dezember 2007 abgeschlossen und wurden Sie dabei nicht über die Vertragsbedingungen und vor allem die Widerrufsfrist vollständig und/oder richtig informiert, kann die Lebensversicherung vollständig rückabgewickelt werden. Das heißt, Sie haben nicht nur Anspruch auf den Rückkaufswert, sondern die Auszahlung aller eingezahlten Beiträge zuzüglich einer Nutzungsentschädigung. Daher kann ein Widerruf für viele Verbraucher eine interessante Option sein.

3. Wie viel Geld gibt es zurück?

Sofern wegen einer fehlerhaften Belehrung ein Widerspruchsrecht besteht, ist der Vertrag nach Ansicht des Bundesgerichtshofes (BGH) vollständig rückabzuwickeln. Das bedeutet, dass die Versicherung zusätzlich zum Rückkaufswert noch sämtliche Vertriebs- und Verwaltungskosten zuzüglich einer Verzinsung (Nutzungsentschädigung) erstatten muss. Wie viel das genau ist, hängt vom Einzelfall und von den eingezahlten Beiträgen ab. In unserer kostenlosen Ersteinschätzung berechnen wir Ihnen gerne die Höhe der realistisch erwartbaren Nutzungsentschädigung.

4. Kann ich auch ohne Rechtsschutzversicherung aktiv werden?

Ja, denn wir sind der Meinung, dass die Rückabwicklung einer fehlerhaft ausgestellten Lebens- oder Rentenversicherung nicht davon abhängen sollte, ob eine Rechtsschutzversicherung vorhanden ist oder nicht. Dafür bieten wir unseren Kunden die Service-Modelle B und D an. Wenn nach Erstprüfung gute Erfolgsaussichten für einen Widerruf bestehen, übernehmen wir für Sie bei beiden Service-Modellen die Prozesskosten. Eine Rechtsschutzversicherung benötigen Sie dafür nicht. Mit unserem neuen Service-Modell D haben Sie nun sogar die Möglichkeit, schon nach rund sechs Wochen eine erste steuerfreie Auszahlung Ihrer Nutzungsentschädigung zu erhalten. Bei Fragen zur Wahl des richtigen Modells helfen wir Ihnen gerne weiter.

5. Gibt es Kostentransparenz?

Sie haben die Kosten jederzeit im Blick: Unsere Dienstleistung ist kostenlos, eine Gebühr fällt erst nach erfolgreichem Abschluss an und bezieht sich auf den Mehrwert, den Sie durch unsere Dienstleistung erhalten. Bevor der Anwalt für Sie tätig wird, informieren wir Sie über entstehende Kosten. Diese werden in der Regel von Ihrer Rechtsschutzversicherung übernommen. Für alle anderen Fälle bieten wir spezielle Service-Modelle an.

6. Was kostet mich die Beauftragung der FACTO?

Sollte es nach der Prüfung Ihrer Unterlagen überwiegende Erfolgsaussichten für den Widerspruch geben, dann können Sie über die FACTO Ihre Lebensversicherung komplett rückabwickeln. Bevor der Anwalt für Sie tätig wird, informieren wir Sie über entstehende Kosten. Diese werden in der Regel von Ihrer Rechtsschutzversicherung übernommen. Im Erfolgsfall erhalten wir ein Honorar als prozentuale Beteiligung auf den erstrittenen Mehrwert. Wie hoch dieses ausfällt, wird mit Ihnen im Voraus besprochen – die Kosten bleiben für Sie jederzeit transparent. Falls Sie über keine Rechtsschutzversicherung verfügen, können wir mit unseren Service-Modellen B und D trotzdem eine Rückabwicklung ermöglichen. Bei Modell D erhalten Sie nun sogar schon bereits nach rund sechs Wochen eine erste steuerfreie Auszahlung Ihrer Nutzungsentschädigung. Sprechen Sie uns gerne darauf an.

7. Welche Versicherungen können widerrufen werden?

Die FACTO prüft alle Lebens- und Rentenversicherungen (klassisch und fondsgebunden), die zwischen dem 1. Januar 1995 und dem 31. Dezember 2007 abgeschlossen wurden und noch laufen, bereits gekündigt wurden oder ausgelaufen sind. Nicht geprüft werden geförderte Verträge, z. B. Riester- oder Rürup-Renten oder eine betriebliche Vorsorge, sowie Versicherungen, die lediglich ein Risiko abdecken wie eine reine Risikolebensversicherung.

8. Können auch bereits gekündigte oder ausgelaufene Verträge widerrufen werden?

Die Urteile des Europäischen Gerichtshofs und des Bundesgerichtshofs sehen vor, dass alle Lebens- oder Rentenversicherungen, die in den Unterlagen oder Versicherungspolicen keine oder eine fehlerhafte Widerrufsbelehrung beinhalten, vollständig rückabgewickelt werden können. Das betrifft auch Verträge, die bereits gekündigt oder ausgelaufen sind.

9. Welche Unterlagen benötigt die FACTO für die Prüfung meines Falls?

Unsere Vertriebspartner vor Ort sichten mit Ihnen gemeinsam die Unterlagen und kümmern sich um die Organisation fehlender Dokumente und Informationen. Welche Unterlagen das genau sind, hängt von Ihrem Fall ab. In der Regel benötigen wir zur Überprüfung der Widerspruchsrechte das Antragsformular, das Policen-Anschreiben, den ursprünglichen Versicherungsschein und die Verbraucherinformationen. Aber auch wenn Unterlagen nicht mehr auffindbar sind, können wir in vielen Fällen eine Rückabwicklung möglich machen. Das überprüfen wir in unserer kostenlosen und unverbindlichen Ersteinschätzung.

10. Ich habe mehrere Verträge, was ändert sich für mich?

Sollten Sie mehrere Verträge vorliegen haben, können Sie diese Fälle gemeinsam bei uns einreichen. Die von uns beauftragen Rechtsanwälte benötigen dann mehrere einzelne Vollmachten, die Sie von uns im Vorfeld zugesendet bekommen.

11. Was passiert mit meinen Original-Unterlagen?

Erst nachdem wir Ihren Fall grundsätzlich positiv eingeschätzt haben, benötigen wir alle Unterlagen im Original. Diese werden an die von uns beauftragten Rechtsanwälte übergeben. Nach erfolgreichem Abschluss der Rückabwicklung erhalten Sie diese natürlich wieder zurück.

12. Wird mein Fall immer vor Gericht ausgehandelt?

Wir bemühen uns im ersten Schritt immer, eine außergerichtliche Einigung mit Ihrer Versicherung zu erreichen. Sollte das jedoch nicht gelingen oder sich nur eine unbefriedigende Lösung abzeichnen, reichen die von uns beauftragten Rechtsanwälte Klage vor Gericht ein. Der Rechtsanwalt verlangt für Sie die Rückabwicklung des Vertrags, die Rückerstattung aller Beiträge sowie die Nutzungsentschädigung.

13. Kann oder muss ich persönlich bei den Gerichtsterminen erscheinen?

Solange Sie nicht als Partei geladen sind, müssen Sie an den Verhandlungen nicht teilnehmen, da der spezialisierte Anwalt mit allen notwendigen Vertretungsvollmachten von Ihnen beauftragt ist.

14. Wie lange dauert eine Rückabwicklung?

Je nach Vertragsart, Gesellschaft und Gerichtsstand ist das höchst unterschiedlich. Wir rechnen üblicherweise mit einer Bearbeitungszeit von mindestens 18 bis 24 Monaten. Mit unserem Service-Modell D haben Sie jedoch die Möglichkeit, schnell einen Anteil Ihrer Nutzungsentschädigung ausgezahlt zu bekommen. In diesem Fall erhalten Sie bereits nach rund sechs Wochen bis zu 20 Prozent des berechneten Mehrwertes überwiesen.

15. Zahlt meine Rechtsschutzversicherung das FACTO-Honorar und die Anwaltskosten?

Idealerweise verfügen Sie über eine Rechtsschutzversicherung, die den Bereich privates Vertragsrecht mit beinhaltet – was meistens der Fall ist. Die Anwaltskosten werden dann von der Rechtsschutzversicherung getragen. Die FACTO erhält nur im Erfolgsfall ein Honorar. Die Vergütung ermittelt sich prozentual am erstrittenen Mehrwert. Dafür fallen Ihnen keine Kosten an.

Ihre Frage ist nicht dabei?
Wir helfen Ihnen gerne weiter:

Selbstverständlich werden Ihre Daten vertraulich behandelt.
Hier finden Sie unsere Datenschutzhinweise.